ventes183
2014-10-16T15:34:08Z
basically i have the shrine spell card out and no monsters. but i can't activate my trap card.

the ocg rules on the jap page when i checked said you can use the trap (when comparing for a similar situation)

ocg ruling sumary from the OCG data base

1) This trap must be directly chain to the activation of spell/trap and monster effect (cannot chain to effect of the spell/trap).
2) Damage step can be activated.
3) This card can be activated if you control hermit youkai in pendulum zone and no hermit youkai monster on the field.
4) Even if u control a face-down monster in ur monster zone, if you control a hermit youkai monster on the field, this card can be activated.
Question 1: Urenjinchu is on ur pendulum zone, if ur field only control a face-down monster, this trap can be activated or not?
Answer: Hermit youkai card exists on the field is the situation, because u do not control face-up non hermit youkai monster on ur monster zone, therefore the trap can be activated when spell/trap or monster effect is activated.
UserPostedImage
Steeldarkeagel
2014-10-16T15:49:28Z
Secret Technique of the Hermit Yokai
When a Spell/Trap Card, or monster effect, is activated while you control a "Hermit Yokai" card and all the face-up monsters you control (if any) are "Hermit Yokai" monsters: Negate the activation, and if you do, destroy it.

Yokai Shrine of Trials is not a "Hermit Yokai" card.