Tex Killer
2012-12-05T00:07:32Z
Hi

Well, Red Nova Dragon's attack-negating effect states that it targets the attacking monster, but one can still use it to negate Obelisk's attack (Obelisk can not be targeted by effects).

Thanks for the work on this awesome game, by the way.
magmaflood
2012-12-08T07:06:13Z
red nova didn't say target the attacking monster.
when it said "select it" -if those words that confuse you- it means red nova.
Tex Killer
2012-12-08T11:19:13Z
No.

"When your opponent's monster declares an attack, you can select it, ..."
It is clear that what gets selected is the "opponent's monster" aforementioned.

Also, that is made clear on this link :
"The effect to negate an attack targets the attacking monster"
Percival18
2012-12-08T12:50:24Z
Yes you are right. I can confirm this a bug after testing on English version of wc 2011.

Just curious: does the ocg version of Red Nova have same ruling?
Tex Killer
2012-12-08T18:10:13Z
There is no mention on the link I've posted before, but I guess it is the same as TCG. Are there any cards with different rulings between TCG and OCG?
Anonymous
2012-12-08T21:10:13Z
Originally Posted by: Tex Killer 

Are there any cards with different rulings between TCG and OCG?



Yeah,here's some cards http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Category:Contradicting_Rulings