celeron
  • celeron
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2013-06-19T11:52:00Z
so for example, one of the monster has an attached rule of "when this card is sent from the field to the graveyard" and it happens so is a valid candidate for a synchro summon material, does it's effect trigger?
Steeldarkeagel
2013-06-19T12:16:55Z
It depends upon the rest of the cards effect.

"When...you can..." these are effects that will miss the timing if the last thing to occurring is not what the "when" is.

So if a "When...you can.." card is used for a Synchro summon the last thing to occur is the summon of that Synchro card and not the sending to the grave.

For example: If you use Dupe Frog for a Synchro summon it will not gain its effect as the last thing to occur is not Dupe Frog being sent to the grave.

If the card just states "When.." and then does not have "You can..." then it is a mandatory effect and will occur once the current chain has finished.

For example: If you use Dandylion for a Synchro summon once that has happened Dandylion will summon the 2 Fluff Tokens.
Eps
  • Eps
  • Advanced Member
2013-06-19T12:44:54Z
Originally Posted by: Steeldarkeagel 

It depends upon the rest of the cards effect.

"When...you can..." these are effects that will miss the timing if the last thing to occurring is not what the "when" is.

<snip>



I really think that Konami needs to revise their wording again as they did with PSCT, because this is still THE most confusing rule for newcomers. And for good reason. I mean, come on, just two small words added to the sentence and suddenly it's a completely different rule set?
Steeldarkeagel
2013-06-19T12:55:57Z
Originally Posted by: Eps 



I really think that Konami needs to revise their wording again as they did with PSCT, because this is still THE most confusing rule for newcomers. And for good reason. I mean, come on, just two small words added to the sentence and suddenly it's a completely different rule set?



Once you have learnt it though it is very simple. They should just add that bit to the rule book.
Eps
  • Eps
  • Advanced Member
2013-06-19T13:08:26Z
Originally Posted by: Steeldarkeagel 


Once you have learnt it though it is very simple. They should just add that bit to the rule book.



If had my way, I would have it revised as "At the exact time that [trigger occurs]: You can [do effect]"