The Doctorz
2013-07-19T14:35:59Z
Hello,
I just have a question i wanted to ask about egyptian cards rule.
I thought they couldn't be targeted by spell/trap cards or monster effects.
But when i used Obelisk the Tormentor
Once it was destroyed by a monster effect, and a second time by a trap.
Is it normal?
Thanks for your help.
Eps
  • Eps
  • Advanced Member
2013-07-19T14:54:39Z
What you just described are the those cards' effects in the anime, and only in the anime. Effects of powerful cards tend to be significantly watered down for their real-life counterparts.

In the case of the god cards, their effect only says that cards cannot be activated when they are summoned. Only Obelisk has the additional effect that prevents him from being targeted by an effect. Effects that do not target work 100% on him.

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Slifer_the_Sky_Dragon 
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/The_Winged_Dragon_of_Ra 
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Obelisk_the_Tormentor 
laserbeam
2013-07-19T14:58:25Z
Quote:

Hello,
I just have a question i wanted to ask about egyptian cards rule.
I thought they couldn't be targeted by spell/trap cards or monster effects.
But when i used Obelisk the Tormentor
Once it was destroyed by a monster effect, and a second time by a trap.
Is it normal?
Thanks for your help.



First of all, why are you posting a question that has nothing to do with the AI in the AI section?

Secondly, describe what mosnter was used to destroy obelisk and what trap was used to destroy obelisk

From the Wikia, Obelisk's Effect States

Quote:

Requires 3 Tributes to Normal Summon (cannot be Normal Set). This card's Normal Summon cannot be negated. When Normal Summoned, cards and effects cannot be activated. Cannot be targeted by Spells, Traps, or card effects. During the End Phase, if this card was Special Summoned: Send it to the Graveyard. You can Tribute 2 monsters; destroy all monsters your opponent controls. This card cannot declare an attack the turn this effect is activated.


Obelisk The Tormenter Wikia Entry 

It states that when it is Normal Summoned, cards and effects can not be activated in response. So cards like Solemn Warning or Bottomless Trap Hole can not be chained to his summon.

After the summon goes through, It then states that it cannot be targeted by Spells, Traps, or monsters.
The key word here is target.
If the Spell, Trap or Monster card that supposedly destroyed Obelisk did not specify to target a monster(s), then the destruction goes through unless negate with another card effect.

An Example of a monster that can destroy a card(s) without targeting is "Black Rose Dragon". Its effects specifies to destroy all cards on field, which means it does not target and therefore would destroy Obelisk in the process.

An Example of a trap card that destroy a card(s) without targeting is the classic "Mirror Force". Its text specifies that when a monster would attack, you can activate it and destroy all attack position monsters on field. Because it does specify the target and says "all", Monsters that can not be targeted by a trap card will be destroyed.

UserPostedImage
The Doctorz
2013-07-19T15:03:24Z
Thanks of the answers, that helped :)
And sorry for posting in the wrong section :/
Users browsing this topic