Wdjat
  • Wdjat
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2016-08-27T20:42:07Z
Pleaee go to Turn 5 in the replay.

in the replay I negated Satellarknight Altair with Treatoad's effect. Now assuming the same ruling as Pot of Duality, my opponent shouldn't have been able to activate Card of Demise because a Special Summon was attempted nonetheless negated.

File Attachment(s):
card of demise glitch, special summon after.yrp (3kb) downloaded 8 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Lyova
2016-08-27T20:56:32Z
YGOPRO handled this correctly. Treatoad negates activations of effects. There was never a special summon; Demise can be activated.

If the activation had been successful, and the effect was negated thereafter (by Veiler, Skill Drain, Breakthrough Skill, etc.) then your opponent wouldn't have been able to activate Demise.
Wdjat
  • Wdjat
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2016-08-27T22:13:01Z
Originally Posted by: Lyova 

YGOPRO handled this correctly. Treatoad negates activations of effects. There was never a special summon; Demise can be activated.

If the activation had been successful, and the effect was negated thereafter (by Veiler, Skill Drain, Breakthrough Skill, etc.) then your opponent wouldn't have been able to activate Demise.



I am under the impression that any attempt falls under this, it shares the ruling with Pot of Duality no? If you attempted to say Pendulum Summon, it gets negated, you shouldn't be able to activate Pot of Duality or Card of Demise.

Lyova
2016-08-27T22:38:28Z
The attempt, the activation, is what gets negated in this case. Yes, Pot of Duality and Demise function according to the same ruling. You're confusing two situations though: effects that summon (which cause a chain), and inherent summons (that don't cause a chain).

If the activation of an effect that summons (Altair, Call of the Haunted, Summoner Monk) is negated, an attempt was never made. Duality remains legal to activate, as does Demise.

If an inherent summon (Cyber Dragon, Synchro, Pendulum) is negated, an attempt was made. No Duality, no Demise.

(Compare activating 2 Dualities if the activation of the first gets negated. Completely legal.)