ooiu
  • ooiu
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2017-04-28T22:58:37Z
If it is summoned with Double-Rank-Up-Magic Utopia Force it can't activate its effects. Not sure if this is how it's ruled or a bug, but if this is how the card has been ruled, I think it should gain effects that it gains when the monster is rank-up summoned even if the monster it is summoned from is not used as material. There is no (to my knowledge) TCG/OCG card which gains effects when summoned by Rank-Up, so the best ruling that can be looked to is how it's used in the anime, in which both the effects of Beyond and Ray Victory are activated in this circumstance.

Astral activates the effect of "Utopia Beyond", reducing the ATK of "Gogogo Golem" to 0 during his Battle Phase (1800 → 0). Yuma activates his face-down "Guardraw", switching "Gogogo Golem" to Defense Position and letting him draw a card. "Utopia Ray Victory" attacks "Gogogo Golem" with Astral activating its effect, detaching an Overlay Unit to negate the effects of "Gogogo Golem" and preventing Yuma from activating Spell and Trap Cards until the end of the Damage Step.
Michael Lawrence Dee
2017-04-29T00:51:19Z
No. Double-RUM Xyz Summons without the Material. It does target yes, but it doesn't have a Material. Thus, what happened in the Anime, is invalid.

We defined "Ranking-Up" as Xyz Summon using that card as an Xyz Material + Ranked-Up aka Rank has increased. I have not yet seen any exception to this so far.
Now this is how I play:
ooiu
  • ooiu
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2017-04-29T08:13:20Z
What I'm saying is that there is no card in the TCG/OCG which gains effects from Rank-Up, so how it should be ruled is completely up to interpretation. I think it would make more sense for it to work the way I previously suggested as that's atleast how it was ruled in the anime, as opposed to the way you defined, which makes sense but there's no evidence for that being the definition of Rank-Up, whereas the definition which would just be a monster summoned by a Rank-Up-Magic card that targeted the original monster, atleast has evidence from that being how it was used in the anime.