genitame
2018-08-13T00:35:35Z
Hey guys,

Mana Dragon Zirnitron is supposed to trigger when your spell/trap card is destroyed. However, it doesn't if your spell/trap card is negatived, then destroyed. For example, when I activate The Phantom Knights of Lost Vambrace, and they chain Solemn Warning, negating and destroying it. I know you can't chain to counter traps, but Zirnitron chains to the spell/trap being removed after destruction, I believe.

Next, The Winged Dragon of Ra - Sphere Mode cannot be attacked, by its own effect. However, it actually can be when targeted by the last effect of Rise to Full Height. This card says your opponent can only attack the monster it targets. I'd have thought it would stop the opponent from attacking altogether - if Ra inherently can't be attacked, but it's the only monster that can be selected for an attack. Seems like this combo should create a lock similar to having 2 Solar Flare Dragons out.

Thanks for all your work, as always.
AlphaKretin
2018-08-13T06:13:07Z
Well, Zirnitron is a Trigger Effect, it doesn't "chain to" anything, but yes, it activates in a new chain after the Spell/Trap is destroyed. However, if the activation of a card is negated, it is not treated as ever having been face-up on the field. I'm not sure if this also applies to activating Set Traps, but it might, which would explain why it didn't work there. Otherwise, we'd need a replay of the situation to help determine the cause.

Was Sphere Mode negated or the attacking monster unaffected by card effects, perchance? A replay would help here too. Otherwise, I'm honestly not sure if it would be correct or not, I couldn't find any rulings either way.
genitame
2018-08-13T14:26:50Z
As far as I can tell, there were no other factors. Don't have replays as it stands.