Freddx
  • Freddx
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2014-01-24T21:28:51Z


Player A) I have a Cyber Dragon face-up on attack position and Cyber Network Face-up, and I attack.

Player B ) My opponent active Mirror Force, and I Chain Cyber Network and banish "Cyber Dragon Drei".

But I cant active the effect of Cyber Dragon Drei to protect my Cyber Dragon, Why?, Is a bug?
LastMinute
2014-01-24T22:51:41Z
I may be wrong, but I think because you chain Cyber Network, you can't activate Cyber Dragon Drei until the entire chain is finished. Though, your Cyber Dragon is going to be destroyed by then.

Well, since this is related to Cyber Dragon Drei, I want to report that its lore is missing "you can" for the protection effect. I know the effect wording is from wiki, so they missed that.
Snarky
2014-01-24T23:14:07Z
Unfortunately, the protection effect of Drei does activate in a new chain, after the current chain resolves. So if you chain Cyber Network in response to a destruction effect, the target you want to protect will already be destroyed by the time Drei resolves. You need to use Network pre-emptively.
You can chain it to an opponent's attack, though, it will resolve before the attack goes through.
Freddx
  • Freddx
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2014-01-25T00:52:07Z
Originally Posted by: Snarky 

Unfortunately, the protection effect of Drei does activate in a new chain, after the current chain resolves. So if you chain Cyber Network in response to a destruction effect, the target you want to protect will already be destroyed by the time Drei resolves. You need to use Network pre-emptively.
You can chain it to an opponent's attack, though, it will resolve before the attack goes through.




Uhmmm in the declaration of attack my opponent active Mirror Force and I chain Cyber Network and banish Cyber Dragon Drei and active its effect ( Mirror Force CHAIN 1 and Cyber Dragon Drei CHAIN 2 ), well I suppose because Cyber Dragon Active its effect I can target a Cyber Dragon on my field and protect it this turn of destrution.

So if Cyber Dragon Drei is on CHAIN 2 I suppose after resolve this effect continous Mirror Force and my Cyber Dragon can't be destroye.

PD: There isn't a Cyber Dragon ruling yet?
Freddx
  • Freddx
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2014-01-25T00:53:43Z
Originally Posted by: LastMinute 

I may be wrong, but I think because you chain Cyber Network, you can't activate Cyber Dragon Drei until the entire chain is finished. Though, your Cyber Dragon is going to be destroyed by then.

Well, since this is related to Cyber Dragon Drei, I want to report that its lore is missing "you can" for the protection effect. I know the effect wording is from wiki, so they missed that.



So because the effect is optional miss the timming in the Chain? I can active the effect but don't resolves.
LastMinute
2014-01-25T01:27:24Z
Since it has "If" instead of "When", you can activate its effect, even if it was used during a Chain or as cost, but in a new Chain. Then "you can" part is just there as an option. Maybe you don't want to use yet.

Well, I at least have confirmation on this - I usually forget. If you chain Cyber Dragon Drei to Mirror Force, your Cyber Dragon cannot be destroyed. Since Cyber Dragon Drei is a Trigger Effect, it's difficult for me to determine how it can chain to Mirror Force, so I recommend doing it earlier.

Anyway, if you chain Cyber Network to Mirror Force, it'll be too late, as Cyber Dragon Drei will be in a new chain instead.
Freddx
  • Freddx
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2014-01-25T03:02:26Z
Originally Posted by: LastMinute 

Since it has "If" instead of "When", you can activate its effect, even if it was used during a Chain or as cost, but in a new Chain. Then "you can" part is just there as an option. Maybe you don't want to use yet.

Well, I at least have confirmation on this - I usually forget. If you chain Cyber Dragon Drei to Mirror Force, your Cyber Dragon cannot be destroyed. Since Cyber Dragon Drei is a Trigger Effect, it's difficult for me to determine how it can chain to Mirror Force, so I recommend doing it earlier.

Anyway, if you chain Cyber Network to Mirror Force, it'll be too late, as Cyber Dragon Drei will be in a new chain instead.



I had Cyber Networt active ( Like a continous Trap ), and when my oponent active Mirror Force I use Cyber Network effect and banish Cyber Dragon Drei, it active the effect but don't resolves, so Cyber Dragon Drei miss the timming?
Snarky
2014-01-25T04:52:13Z
It is not "missing the timing" in the usual context of the word. It is an optional "if... you can" effect, which due to this wording cannot miss timing. The effect will always activate, if the conditions allow it (aka if a Cyber Dragon to protect is on the field).

It is just that banishing Drei via Network in a chain does not immediately chain the protection effect to the current chain. The entire chain will resolve first instead, then Drei's protection effect activates and starts a new chain. If by that time, there is still a Cyber Dragon on the field, you can protect it. But if you chained Network to a destruction effect, Drei activates and resolves after the destruction already resolved and destroyed the target.

This is because you don't chain the actual protection, but you chain an effect that triggers another effect, which provides the protection. This kind of behavior is actually fairly common. For example, opponent activates Tenki, you chain MST. Tenki is destroyed and because its continuous and was destroyed before resolution, opponent doesn't get his search.

But if your opponent activates Tenki, and you chain Call of the Haunted to revive Traptrix Myrmeleo, which on special-summon destroys a spell/trap card, something similar to the Drei situation happens: The chain resolves, Myrmeleo is summoned, then the opponent gets the Tenki search. Then Myrmeleo's effect starts a new chain and destroys the Tenki, but because the search already resolved, this way you cannot stop the search like MST would. Same issue basically.
Freddx
  • Freddx
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2014-01-25T15:01:33Z
Originally Posted by: Snarky 

It is not "missing the timing" in the usual context of the word. It is an optional "if... you can" effect, which due to this wording cannot miss timing. The effect will always activate, if the conditions allow it (aka if a Cyber Dragon to protect is on the field).

It is just that banishing Drei via Network in a chain does not immediately chain the protection effect to the current chain. The entire chain will resolve first instead, then Drei's protection effect activates and starts a new chain. If by that time, there is still a Cyber Dragon on the field, you can protect it. But if you chained Network to a destruction effect, Drei activates and resolves after the destruction already resolved and destroyed the target.

This is because you don't chain the actual protection, but you chain an effect that triggers another effect, which provides the protection. This kind of behavior is actually fairly common. For example, opponent activates Tenki, you chain MST. Tenki is destroyed and because its continuous and was destroyed before resolution, opponent doesn't get his search.

But if your opponent activates Tenki, and you chain Call of the Haunted to revive Traptrix Myrmeleo, which on special-summon destroys a spell/trap card, something similar to the Drei situation happens: The chain resolves, Myrmeleo is summoned, then the opponent gets the Tenki search. Then Myrmeleo's effect starts a new chain and destroys the Tenki, but because the search already resolved, this way you cannot stop the search like MST would. Same issue basically.



Thanks, nice explanation, so:

Player A: Declare an attack with a Cyber Dragon
Player B: Active Mirror Force ( CHAIN 1 )
Player A: Use the Cyber Network face-up and banish Cyber Dragon Drei and active the effect ( CHAIN 2)


So the CHAIN 2 was active, then resolve the CHAIN 1, and then resolve the Cyber Dragon the effect of target of Cyber Dragon Drei in a new Chain ( Could name CHAIN 3 ).

Your right is the same situation of Tenki vs Myrmeleo.