Home
News
FAQ
Forum
Ygopro
Search
Register
Login
YGOPRO Forum
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please try to register or login.
Forum
Active Topics
YGOPRO
»
YGOPRO
»
Card rulings and card bugs
»
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING -
Checklist before posting a topic
Options
Email this topic
Watch this topic
Print this topic
» Normal
Threaded
Previous Topic
Next Topic
Percival18
#1
Posted :
Friday, March 08, 2013 8:31:49 PM(UTC)
Rank: Administration
Joined: 11/25/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,117
Thanks: 80 times
Was thanked: 1649 time(s) in 530 post(s)
Please apply this checklist before you make a topic about a card:
Check your ygopro version first.
The forum here is for Ygopro percy only. Always use the latest version:
http://www.ygopro.co/Download.aspx
Topic checklist
Use card names that are listed on
http://yugioh.wikia.com/
Read the FAQ
http://www.ygopro.co/FAQ.aspx
Read the Common card ruling mistakes
https://www.ygopro.co/Fo...-ruling-mistakes#post194
Please have some common sense and use a proper topic title
Good example
:
"Stardust refuses to special summon"
Bad example
:
"BUG!!!"
Don't send a PM to the Moderators and Administrators about bugs. We are not your personal helpdesk.
Card checklist
Search the card and check its rulings at the yugioh wikia.
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/
Check if the card is already mentioned in this
sticky topic
Check if the card is already reported by using the
search
Describe the bug in DETAIL
What cards are on the field?
What cards did you activate before? Did you use Pot of Duality?
Have you met all the requirements for the card you are trying to use?
Does any of the cards prevent you from doing something?
Attaching a replay of the bug is recommended. If you do, state the turn in which the bug happened.
Too much trouble? It’s worth spending the time to do this right. After all, why should we spend the time if you aren’t willing to do so?
Edited by moderator
Sunday, January 29, 2017 11:36:54 AM(UTC)
|
Reason: Not specified
Read this before requesting support
Read this before posting card bugs
9 users thanked Percival18 for this useful post.
boo42v
,
ryu02
,
MysticXero
,
FTON
,
TH3WAFFL3R
,
war3344
,
Pongpratpk
,
kunitaka1124
,
userD
User Profile
View All Posts by User
View Thanks
Eps
#2
Posted :
Tuesday, October 22, 2013 2:31:36 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member
Joined: 4/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 17 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 169 post(s)
Confusing rulings everyone should know
Listed here are some of the most confusing rulings in the Yu-Gi-Oh! trading card game, and an explanation of how they work in the corresponding spoilers. We ask that you read through this before posting, as a lot of “bugs” that we get in this sub-forum are typically just players being confused by these.
1. Synchro Monsters cannot always be Special Summoned from the Graveyard/banished zone.
Even though Synchro Monsters typically do not have the text “Must first be Synchro Summoned”, they are nonetheless all treated as
Semi-Nomi
monsters, i.e. they cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or banished zone unless they are successfully Synchro Summoned first. The same goes for all other extra-deck monster cards - Fusion Monsters and Xyz Monsters. This often leads to confusion if such a monster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck by any other means. The most notorious example of this is “Starlight Road”:
Since “Starlight Road” does not include the text “(This is treated as a Synchro Summon)”, “Stardust Dragon” is treated to have been brought to the field without being Synchro Summoned first. This means that if you activate its effect, it will go to the Graveyard without the ability to be Special Summoned back from it, even by its own effect. Hence the ruling that a “Stardust Dragon” Special Summoned by “Starlight Road” will not Special Summon itself after negating a destruction effect.
2. A monster attached as Xyz Material never “leaves the field”, but is no longer on the field anyway.
This ruling is a reminder that you should never rely on common sense alone when playing a competitive game. Every phrase on a card has a formal meaning, and “leaves the field” is no exception. According to the official rules, “
A card leaves the field, formerly known as being removed from the field, when it is returned from the field to the hand or Extra Deck, sent from the field to the Graveyard, or banished from the field.
” Note that that does not include “Is attached or detached”, meaning that, formally, when a monster is attached to an Xyz Monster as Xyz Material, it ceases being on the field without actually “leaving” the field. This is important because it means that effects that trigger on “leaving the field” will never activate:
At the same token, when a monster is detached, it is not considered to be on the field prior to that, meaning that “When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard” effects will not trigger either:
However, effects that do not care where they were sent to the Graveyard from,
will
activate:
3. You cannot always activate “When..: You can..” effects.
Always read your cards’ text carefully. Because sometimes just a few words can dramatically change what you can and cannot do with it. The
“When..: You can…”
pattern is exactly that, because it means that the card’s effect can
“miss timing”
. What does that all mean? Consider the three following effects:
“When a monster on the field is destroyed: Draw 1 card.”
“When a monster on the field is destroyed: You can Draw 1 card.”
“If a monster on the field is destroyed: You can Draw 1 card.”
On the surface they all look the same, and it would be reasonable for you to expect that they all work exactly the same. But they don’t. Because of its wording, the
second effect
will miss timing if “a monster being destroyed” isn’t the very last thing to occur. This can occur if, for example, the effect that destroys the monster is Chain Link 2 or higher, meaning some other effect still need to resolve afterwards. Other times this is caused by the event triggering the effect being only the first of a series of actions that comprise an effect, such as in the case of “Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter”:
This means that you cannot hit the “When” part on that effect – the opportunity is missed. However, in the same circumstance, the other two effects
will not
miss timing. Why?
The
first effect
will trigger because it does not include a “You can” after the colon. This means that the effect is mandatory – you cannot choose not to activate it, therefore it must trigger, even if not at the exact same time as its condition was met.
The
third effect
will let you choose whether to activate the effect after the chain has finished resolving, because “If” does not imply a specific timing the same way “When” does. Therefore such an effect cannot “miss timing” – there is no timing involved at all.
So, long story short: watch out for
“When..: You can…”
effects. They are easy to miss, but they behave differently to other effects, and can sometimes cost you the game.
YGOPRO Card Packer
7 users thanked Eps for this useful post.
Steeldarkeagel
,
toxichris2
,
Glmoud
,
carbonossauro
,
arlon_kyo
,
Doctor_Rabbit
,
FTON
User Profile
View All Posts by User
View Thanks
Users browsing this topic
YGOPRO
»
YGOPRO
»
Card rulings and card bugs
»
PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING
Forum Jump
YGOPRO
Ygopro.co
- News and Announcements
- Ygopro.co website discussion
YGOPRO
- YGOPro Discussion
- Support and Feedback
- Card rulings and card bugs
--- Anime cards
--- Beta cards
- Projects
--- Card scripts
- Duels
- AI section
Mobile
- Android Support and Feedback
- iOS Support and Feedback
Yu-Gi-Oh!
- Yu-Gi-Oh! Discussion
- Decks
Tournaments
- Tournaments
OTHER
- Off-Topic
You
cannot
post new topics in this forum.
You
cannot
reply to topics in this forum.
You
cannot
delete your posts in this forum.
You
cannot
edit your posts in this forum.
You
cannot
create polls in this forum.
You
cannot
vote in polls in this forum.
Powered by YAF
|
YAF © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
Notification
Error
OK
Copyright © Ygopro.co